Consumer Fraud Reporting
Reporting on the Latest Frauds, Scams, Fake Lotteries, Spams and Hoaxes

Home Email this page GovernmentAgencies Recognize a scam Report a Scam If you are scammed Your wallet is stolen? Prevent scams Free Publications Recommended Feedback to CFR Glossary Search Credit Card Rights Bookmark and Share



AV product:

Scam Website Complaint
Review of

Have you used We have received a report that it is a scam, and provide our review below.  We'd like your experiences (good or bad) about, as well.

When we receive an inquiry about a website, like, we  first look for the signs of both a scam and a reputable company.  There is no one indicator that is proof positive of a scam, but if a website exhibits a number of these, we rate it is a likely scam. See this page for our checklist of some of the things we look for.

Report from a visitor about, dated: April 1, 2008

I was doing a Google search to buy some software call Guitar Speed Trainer. The link below came up and they had the best price. I ordered the software and they sent me a password and user name and a page to go to. The software they sent wouldn't load and had nothing to do with what I ordered. There were no responses to my customer service emails. When I called my credit card company they gave me a number next to the charge that I could call. It was 650-963-5506. A recording referred me to a website called which didn't come up, but a number of fraud stories from other people did. I think I've been ripped off and I instructed my card company to dispute the charge. Can't you put these guys out of business?

Our investigation

Their website's appearance is ok; nothing too unusual, except for the absence of any means to contact them other than by a contact form on the website.

They claim "Wa7oef Ltd. sells cheap oem downloadable software at discount prices & gives a detailed oem software review!"

Their prices are unbelievably low - as it we don't believe they can be legitimate.  For example, they are offering Adobe Acrobat 6 professional, retail $499, for $69.95.

We clicked on the links to try to buy Acrobat, and here's what we saw:

"Important:  By pressing this button you agree to receive the software designated for home use only without any certificate or a license. You will not be able to register this software with the manufacturer."


"There is no catch - the software versions that we sell are OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) which means you will receive the installation downloadable CD images only (they do not come in their original retail packing and do not include the manual). We do guarantee that all programs are the 100% full working retail versions - no demos or academic versions! When you order, you will receive all materials required for a complete installation - or your money back! Why pay hundreds of dollars more when you can get exactly the same but downloadable? You don't have to pay that much for the fancy box and manuals."


Domain ID: D1047811-LROR
Domain Name: WA7OEF.ORG
Created On: 15-Apr-1995 04: 00: 00 UTC
Last Updated On: 12-Jan-2008 04: 29: 30 UTC
Expiration Date: 16-Apr-2009 04: 00: 00 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar: Directi Internet Solutions d/b/a PublicDomainRegistry.Com (R27-LROR)
Registrant Organization:
Registrant Street1: P.O. Box 97
Registrant Street2: All Postal Mails Rejected, visit
Registrant City: Moergestel
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code: 5066 ZH
Registrant Country: NL
Registrant Phone: +45.36946676
Registrant Email:
Name Server: NS1.ROAD2WEB.COM
Name Server: NS2.ROAD2WEB.COM


No contact info other than a form.  Whois shows a private hidden domain registration in the Netherlands. Software sales with the disclaimer that it comes without a license and you may not register it with the manufacturer.

We asked them this question via their contact form:

Are these products legal? I understand that the manufacturer does not want them sold retail, and OEM means they are intended to be installed by the manufacturer (or assemble) of a new computer system. I also understand they come without support, boxes, etc. But for them to be legal in the U.S., each one must has a unique product key code associated with it, and the code must be unique to each copy sold. If I order software from you, will the key code be unique to my copy, or used by multiple people?

The obvious conclusion is they are selling bootleg (illegal) copies of software.

Conclusion: SCAM WEBSITE!

Get-Rich Scams and Work-From-Home Schemes Unmasked!

See our page that lists the most common get-rich schemes

Reporting a Fraudulent Business Website

Of course, in all cases, you can start by reporting it to us, using this form. We will use the information to warn other consumers and help you to direct it to law enforcement agencies.

A catch-all for bringing internet scams to the attention of the FBI and FTC is the U.S. government's Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) at Internet Fraud Complaints Center.  If you are looking for your local FBI Office Listings to report a crime or scam, click here.

Do you want to report a fraud, scam or crime to the FBI (the Federal Bureau of Investigation), but can't find the phone number for your nearest local FBI office?  See this page to find the closest office!

For other government agencies to report scams, see this page.  And of course, write us! We are always interested in hearing about any potential scams!   


Copyright CFR 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009  - Definition of scam, fraud, etc.Legal disclaimer / corrections / complaints  -  Privacy Policy
Names used by scammers in the examples on this page and others often belong to real people and businesses who often have no knowledge of nor connection to the scammer's use of their name and information.  Sample scam emails and other documents are copies of the scam to help potential victims recognize and avoid it.  You should presume that any names used and presented here in a scam are either fictitious or used without their legitimate owner's permission.
Email us at: