Job and Recruiting Scams:
Payment Officer Scam
ImageType NewMedia GmbH (via CareerBuilder), Munchen, Germany
Linda Hanlon
Have you received an email from Linda Hanlon of "ImageType NewMedia GmbH (via CareerBuilder)" in Munchen, Germany (or ANYWHERE else) offering you
a job as a "post advertising ads in your local newspapers and magazines", "Payment Officer", "local agent" or "local representative" in which
you "receive payments", deduct your "Processing fee", deposit the checks and
then wire most of the money to an overseas "company"?
It is an AFF / Money transfer Scam.
They'll send you counterfeit checks which you are supposed to deposit, take out
some percentage (typically, 10%) for your work, and then MoneyGram or Western
Union wire the remaining 90%. Notice that although you receive checks, they
won't let you forward a check to them, only Western Union or Money Gram. There's
a reason for this: Western Union and MoneyGrams are cashed immediately and are
untraceable and irretrievable. Bank checks can take 1 or 2 weeks to clear!
Of course, since the check is fake, it will bounce a week or so later after
you deposit it. But you have already moneygram'ed the scammers the 90% of
the amount, and that is transacted almost instantly. So you now owe the
bank for the full amount. You may also face criminal charges for passing
counterfeit checks. See
this page for a step-by-step explanation of how the scam unfolds.
We have forwarded this scam to CareerBuilder. CareerBuilder has
a page that
describes scams very similar to this here.
Do you have a resume posted online? We'd like to hear from you about your
experiences recruiting emails that turned out to be scams or misleading -
click here to write us.
Notice the passages we have highlighted in the actual scam email below.
They illustrate some of the additional clues that it is a scam, such as the email
comes from a free email account (such as Yahoo.com, Hotmail.com, Aim.com, Gmail,
cox.net, etc.). Wouldn't you expect a company to have its own website and
email address (after all, it only costs about $200/year; every reputable company
has its own website these days!) And don't be surprised if the scammers do put
the names of real companies, real websites and events in their scams; it doesn't
mean anything at all!
This one is "Too Good To Be True." My response to this lead
to another email to me which was an obvious identity theft scam. I have fowarded
that separately.
Fred
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: CareerBuilder <linda@imagetypemedia.com>
Date: Feb 6, 2008 6:54 PM
Subject: Advertising Agent, $65K/year Available
Position

Job Description: You will post advertising ads in your local
newspapers and magazines, such as sales ads, employment ads or real estate ads.
You do NOT
need special skills or degrees. The position is very easy and can be done by
anyone without the necessity to leave your current job!
Our company
is located in Munchen, Germany. We need your services in USA for the specified
position, Newspaper Agent. You will spend max. 2-4 hours weekly, in your spare
time.
All you have
to do is place the ads from home calling newspapers at toll free numbers, of
course after you receive the content that must be posted from us and the money
needed to post in newspapers. Almost all our ads are employment ads. Yes, we
will provide the money to post in newspapers. You just have to call the
newspaper and place the ad. There will be 4-10 ads placed weekly, for each ad
you post you are paid with $100, you will deduct your share from money we send
you to post the ads.
Requirements:
- US Citizen
- computer with e-mail; Check your email daily
- You must have over 20 years old
- 2-3 hours free during the week (mainly in the evening /
non-business hours) for communication;
You will
enjoy working from home on your computer, without needing employees. You can
earn a full-time income in as little as 2-3 hours/week, in your spare time.
There is no
need to leave from your current job. You can work for us few hours daily and
increase your income with GUARANTEED $4,000 Monthly. If you have any questions
you will receive the answers same day, mostly within few minutes.
NO account
SETUP fees or fees of any kind to work for us .
You will need
no money to work for us, just fill the form below with your personal
information and send it back to us by e-mail. Below Completed form will be
reviewed and our manager will contact you same day:
PERSONAL
INFORMATION:
First name,
Last name:
Full Address
- NOT PO Box please:
City, State,
Postal Zip Code:
Two E-mail
addresses:
Phone# :
We will
select papers from your US where the classified ads will be placed and will
send you the funds to post. You need to place the ads in max. 48 hours after you
receive the money from us! This is the only condition we ask.
How you are
paid for your services:
Like we
specified, there will be 4-10 employment ads placed weekly, for each ad you post
you are paid with $100, you will deduct your share from money we send you to
post the ads.
After 30 days of testing period we will sign by mail contract
for long-term. We provide 1099 form at the end of each year.
Job is very simple and all terms are clear, however,
do
not apply for this job if you are not responsible. Your agreement will be
considered an USA binding contract, you cannot apply now and refuse to do your
tasks later.
You will be recorded as our Employee and we'll pay taxes everytime
you will place an ad.
Thank you
And
the Scammer's response:
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ImageType NewMedia GmbH <linda@imagetypemedia.com>
Date: Feb 9, 2008 9:22 AM
Subject: Newspaper Job Confirm
My name is Linda Hanlon, from ImageType,
In order to start today we need to send you money for ads, please
complete the form below:
PERSONAL INFORMATION:
First name, Last name:
Address:
City, State, Postal Zipcode:
Your Bank Name:
Bank account number:
Bank routing number:
We need a bank account info to send the money directly into your account faster.
If you don't have a bank account or simply don't want to share your main account
simply make one free at US Bank or Citi Bank, they are preffered because of
faster transfer times. We will not share your account info with anyone.
One first payment of $950 will be sent within 24 hours.
Our company website address is located at
www.imagetype.de
Our Online Advertising Agency is helping clients establish and implement online
strategies for over 14 years. Please reply to confirm that you received this
email and send the info to start the job.
Thank you
Linda Hanlon, ImageType NewMedia GmbH
Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Str. 9, Prien am Chiemsee 80686 München, Germany
Tel. +49 7051-90 11 7-0 Fax +49 7051-90 11 7-5
Website address:
www.imagetype.de
Other Jobs Scams
There are a variety of sleazy scams that look, at first glance, like
legitimate job offers. Before you write back to them, pause a moment and read about the scams below!
Some of the more common job scams are
|