|

Recommended:
books
Recommended
AV product:
| |
Phony Check Scams
EDS Mobile Home Supply, Corporate Research
Job Offer with a check - and you must Money Gram $100 back
Have you received an email from EDS Mobile Home Supply or Corporate Research
offering you a job and including a check? According to the report below, it is a
scam.
The description is that of an AFF / Money transfer Scam.
They'll send you counterfeit checks which you are supposed to deposit, take out
some percentage (typically, 10%) for your work, and then MoneyGram or Western
Union wire the remaining 90%. Notice that although you receive checks, they
won't let you forward a check to them, only Western Union or Money Gram. There's
a reason for this: Western Union and MoneyGrams are cashed immediately and are
untraceable and irretrievable. Bank checks can take 1 or 2 weeks to clear!
Of course, since the check is fake, it will bounce a week or so later after
you deposit it. But you have already moneygram'ed the scammers the 90% of
the amount, and that is transacted almost instantly. So you now owe the
bank for the full amount. You may also face criminal charges for passing
counterfeit checks. See
this page for a step-by-step explanation of how the scam unfolds.
Notice the passages in the actual scam email below.
They point out some of the additional clues that it is a scam, such as the email
comes from a free email account (such as Yahoo.com, Hotmail.com, Aim.com, Gmail,
cox.net, etc.). Wouldn't you expect a company to have its own website and
email address (after all, it only costs about $200/year; every reputable company
has its own website these days!) And don't be surprised if the scammers do put
the names of real companies, real websites and events in their scams; it doesn't
mean anything at all!
Today, April 21st, 08, I received a check from EDS
Mobile Home Supply, 6600 Washington Blvd, Elkridge, MD 21075 for $3,950.00. It
appears like a ligitimate job offer from a company named Corporate Research P.O.
Box 4442 Milford Ct. 06460. If I cash this check it appears that I must at some
point send a money gram for $100.00 to begin the employment process. The Bank
on the Check is Branch Bank and Trust-Maryland, 2501 Wooten Blvd, Wilson, N.C.
27893. I called them to see how they got my name and they knew my e-mail and
address at work and work phone #. When I told them I didn't apply for any
position, they said they would take my name off the list and they could not give
me any information related to this position. This sounds like a scam. They
could not tell me where they got my name but that they connected the address and
phone # to my e-mail. Who knows what would have happened if we had cashed this
check. Also, this came to my employer to be cashed and looks like I'm seeking
other employment. I could have lost my job over this.
|