|

Recommended:
books
Recommended
AV product:
| |
Job and Recruiting Emails: yourecareerssite.com
Have you received an recruiting email like the one below, claiming to be from
Actual email received by our staff:
Subject: <your name> , Are you interested in a Management/Consulting job?
From: EcareerSite - Director of HR Services [
careers@ecareersite.com ]
Dear <your name> ,
Your administrative training and previous experience are what we're looking
for in an employee. After reading the resume you posted on the Internet, I
believe you are a great match for our vacancy. Included below is some basic
information about the position.
Director of HR Services
$60,000 - $90,000
If you are interested in finding out more about this position, please click
on the hyperlink to be directed to the Web page with the full job
description. This page also contains a virtual application that you can
submit to be considered for the opening.
http://yourecareerssite.com/cmanager2.aspx
?em=bogusaddress@yahoo.com&id=aysrf4_
LameduckpresidtentBushhb010720084vfeer67&rd=1240&j=
3048408
Please allow a couple of days for your application to be processed. A member
of our human resources department will then contact you to set up an initial
interview.
Regards,
Hank Thompson
Sr. Recruiter, HR Division

Please extract_me from_your contact list.
Investigation
- On many of these websites, they list themselves as Career Network with
an address in St Louis, MO. There is no phone number given.
- Their website has only 3 visible pages. We have never seen a jobs
website, or almost any commercial website that has only three publicly
visible pages.
- Their job listings are vague, generic and cannot be directly browsed, applied for or
replied to, except through the email you received.
- The information requested in their forms is almost completely irrelevant
to a job search
- The Better Business Bureau has no information about this company. See:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080102080227AA6zpdX
- They require you to enter your cell phone number - something
reputable firms would not do. This is something scammers would
obviously do in order to obtain cell numbers to
sell on lists, since there is no listing of cell phones like the phone book
for residential phone listings. For that reason, listings of cell phone
numbers are more valuable.
- The link to "Extract me from your contact list" appears to be
fake - we altered the query string to make a gibberish address. It
accepted it and then told us it had been removed... when it could not have
been in there to begin. We suspect that clicking on this link merely
confirms that your email address is valid and active to them, and probably
ensures that it will end up on a spam list.
- Their contact information contains no phone number, only this:
"Have a question? Interested in partnering with the Career Network?
Please email us at info@jobsource-group.com. If you are a job seeker and are
looking to join our network of candidates, please click here.
Career Network 400 Chesterfield Center Suite 400 St. Louis, MO 63017
info@jobsource-group.com"
If you live in St. Louis and want to drive by this office building to
visually verify the name on the door of suite 400,
please let us know!
Recommendation
We have yet to hear from A SINGLE PERSON who has received a job through
them or any of the similar and likely related websites. If you have received a job through yourecareerssite.com or the
others above, or have anything positive to say about them -
PLEASE WRITE US! So far, all we have
seen is very suspicious, at best.
CFR RECOMMENDS THAT YOU DO NOT GIVE
THEM ANY PERSONAL INFORMATION UNTIL WE CAN CONFIRM MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THEM!
Do you have a resume posted online? We'd like to hear from you about your
experiences recruiting emails that turned out to be scams or misleading -
click here to write us.. We suspect
these are possibly a new wave of identity theft attacks.
Note: There ARE legitimate recruiting and employment firms on the
internet, and some with very similar names to those above. We recommend
you check any company out before you give any personal information to them.
If they do not have a posted address and phone number, or don't answer the
phone, don't give them any personal information! The legal recruiters will be
happy to give you contact information, return calls and act in the open!
What to do, if you DID fill out their form:
Report it to the following government agencies:
Additional Resources and Sources
Other Jobs Scams
This set of job spams and scams may be
related. And see this
page for the detailed investigation.
There are a variety of sleazy scams that look, at first glance, like
legitimate job offers. Before you write back to them, pause a moment and read about the scams below!
Some of the more common job scams are
|